News round up

The new Government of Mongolia is partially formed

The new Mongolian Government is finally formed, but only partially, with 11 new ministers appointed by the Mongolian Parliament following its marathon session which started on Friday, 22 July and continued late into the wee hours of Saturday, 23 July.
The new Government of Mongolia will have 13 ministries and 27 agencies, and so far 11 of the 15 ministers have been appointed and who have assumed their office. With this the former ministries in the Ch. Saikhanbileg Cabinet have been relieved of their duties as Cabinet members.
The new 11 ministers include the following: U. Khürelsükh, Deputy Prime Minister; J. Mönkhbat, Minister of Mongolia and Chief Cabinet Secretary; B. Bat-Erdene, Minister of Defense; D. Ganbat, Minister of Roads and Transport; B. Choijilsüren, Minister of Finance; S. Byambatsogt, Minister of Justice and the Interior; N. Nomtoibayar, Minister of Labor and Social Welfare; D. Oyünkhorol, Minister of Environment and Tourism; J. Batsuuri, Minister of Education, Culture, Science and Sports; and, Ts. Dashdorj, Minister of Mining and Heavy Industry. Of these newly appointed ministers, 7 ministers are concurrently Members of Parliament.

    The four remaining ministers of Construction and Urban Development, Food, Agriculture and Light Industry, Energy and Health have yet to be named and appointed, as the four candidates who were proposed by the Prime Minister were rejected by the Independent Authority Against Corruption as having conflict of interest. The new names are expected to be announced soon, but the date has yet to be announced.
Earlier, Prime Minister J. Erdenebat had submitted to the President of Mongolia Ts. Elbegdorj for consultation, first the composition and structure of the new Cabinet, and later, the candidates to the posts of the new Cabinet members. The President had rejected both the proposals of the Prime Minister urging the latter to recall his party’s pre-election promises to the people and also the previous stance of the MPP that the Cabinet members should not be concurrently Members of Parliament, and noting that the Government should be a professional one, as 8 of the 16 proposed Cabinet members were from among the newly elected Members of Parliament.
The Prime Minister has also confirmed that his Cabinet would have Vice Ministers. The Prime Minister justified his plan by indicating that this is being done to ensure that the ministries would have someone to run the business when the minister is absent.
The previous Government of the Democratic Party had a total of 19 ministers including the Prime Minister and with 15 ministries. The new Government of J. Erdenebat has 13 ministries, as the previous ministries of industry and labor have been merged with the ministries of mining and social welfare.
The new Cabinet meeting is expected to he held on Wednesday, 27 July.

Leave a Comment